Windows 7

Depending on what you’ve read or experienced: Windows Vista is really great, really bad, or somewhere in between. For the most part, I’m not too excited about Vista. I think there are a bunch of technological improvements, and lots of potential, but overall I’m just not terribly impressed with the completed product. To say the least, I think some major polish and serious optimization are needed. I’ve heard some other people feel the same way.

This brings us to Windows 7, the next version of Windows. There’s a lot of Windows 7 speculation out in the wild. But, not much official information, or even anything concrete. Microsoft really doesn’t like to release official feature lists, or product information until they’re sure they can deliver. That’s really no different than most software companies. What is different, is Windows is not just any software, and Microsoft is not just any software company. So, Microsoft has extra incentive to keep tight-lipped until they’re ready to present something. Microsoft doesn’t like bad press about features they cut, and I don’t blame them.

Hopefully, some Microsoft insider will drop an opinion here and there (sort of like MiniMicrosoft). Hey, perhaps one has. I’ve recently come across an interesting blog on Windows 7. By outward appearances, this appears to be written by an insider. I hope that over the coming months, this blog continues to increase in relevance. I do like information, and I’m quietly cheering for a much improved version of Windows: Shipping Seven (Random thoughts from somebody working on the next Windows OS)

About dataland

Like many others, I'd like to improve the world but I'm currently caught up in day-to-day work. In the meantime, I'm a software developer who is very much focused on the end user.
This entry was posted in Microsoft, Technology and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Windows 7

  1. Sheeva says:

    I’m still remembering some years ago regarding the MS announcements on major file structure changes and what not. I also recall MS conversations that they could not meet deadlines on these changes and so released VISTA as an interim upgrade. I have seen and read but now can’t find various tech sites, MS sites, etc. that discussed these new features and functions and how they would fundamentally change our working with PCs et al. Why has this all disappeared or been forgotten?

    Like many others I’m not impressed by VISTA and have in fact, since uninstalled it. The negative issues experienced with it just doesn’t deserve any more of my time or patience. Will Windows 7 be any better? We can only speculate and “wish upon a star”.

  2. Pingback: Vista SP1 Improvements « Dataland

Leave a Reply

